The Big Picture (Englische Edition)

A New Perspective on the Grand Canyon
Leporello, with dust jacket (transparent)
Format: 24.5cm x 30.5cm
Seitenanzahl: 26 Seiten
Regular price $54.11
Selling price $54.11 Regular price
Unit price
including VAT | Free shipping within Germany from €15

For many years, Thomas Kellner focused on architecture and sights from all over the world, but in this work, created in the summer of 2014, he turns to one of the most breathtaking landscape motifs on earth: the Grand Canyon.

 

Kellner photographs the subject from several perspectives and thus breaks it down into its individual parts. He then puts together the contacts in their original size to form an overall composition. Since 1997 he has exclusively used the contact sheet prints for his highly individual compositions. The distinguishing feature of this mounting technique are the horizontal black stripes between the individual rows of images, which represent the consecutive numbering of the negative. The image dimension is also derived from the number of films used in the creation process, as it is a collage with 1:1 contact prints.

 

The Big Picture consists of 60 films of 36 shots each, i.e. 2160 images taken one after the other. The work is full of brown, red and green color elements from the rocks of the Grand Canyon and therefore offers an overwhelming sight. Viewed up close, it shows the landscape in detail and viewed a little further away, the detailed shots create a coherent panorama.

 

Kellner transfers the international trend of deconstructivism from architecture to photography by photographing buildings, people and landscapes, fragmenting them and then combining them into a heterogeneous conglomerate of forms. When photographing the Grand Canyon, however, he forgoes any playful intervention in the composition of the individual parts. Kellner depicts this incredible landscape as it is and lets it speak for itself.

 

The Big Picture (Englische Edition)

The Big Picture (Englische Edition)

Regular price $54.11
Selling price $54.11 Regular price
Unit price

• Einloggen
Suchen
last copies

The Big Picture (Englische Edition)

A New Perspective on the Grand Canyon
Inkl. MwSt. versandkostenfrei
innerhalb Deutschlands ab 15 €
Auf Lager , versandbereit in 1–2 Tagen
In 1–2 Tagen versandbereit
+Produktinformationen

Viele Jahre beschäftigte sich Thomas Kellner mit Architekturen und Sehenswürdigkeiten aus aller Welt, doch in dieser im Sommer 2014 entstandenen Arbeit, wendet er sich einem der atemberaubendsten Landschaftsmotive dieser Erde zu: dem Grand Canyon.

 

Kellner fotografiert den Bildgegenstand aus mehreren Perspektiven und zerlegt ihn somit in seine Einzelteile. Anschließend setzt er die Kontaktaufnahmen in Originalgröße zu einer Gesamtkomposition zusammen. Seit 1997 nutzt er ausschließlich die Abzüge der Kontaktbogen für seine höchst individuellen Kompositionen. Das Erkennungsmerkmal dieser Montagetechnik sind die horizontal verlaufenden Schwarzstreifen zwischen den einzelnen Bilderreihen, welche die fortlaufende Nummerierung des Negativs darstellen. Aus der Anzahl der beim Entstehungsprozess verwendeten Filme leitet sich also auch die Bilddimension her, da es sich um eine Collage mit 1:1 Kontaktabzügen handelt.

 

The Big Picture besteht aus 60 Filmen á 36 Aufnahmen, demnach aus 2160 hintereinander aufgenommenen Bildern. Das Werk trotzt nur so von braunen, roten und grünen Farbelementen der Gesteine des Grand Canyons und bietet dadurch einen überwältigenden Anblick. Aus der Nähe betrachtet, zeigt es die Landschaft im Detail und etwas ferner betrachtet ergeben die Detailaufnahmen ein zusammenhängendes Panorama.

 

Kellner überträgt die internationale Strömung des Dekonstruktivismus von der Architektur in die Fotografie, indem er Bauwerke, Menschen und Landschaften fotografiert, sie zersplittert und anschließend in ein heterogenes Formenkonglomerat zusammenfügt. Bei der Aufnahme des Grand Canyons verzichtet er allerdings auf den spielerischen Eingriff in der Zusammensetzung der Einzelteile. Kellner bildet diese unglaubliche Landschaft ab wie sie ist und lässt sie für sich selbst sprechen.

 

+Technische Daten

ISBN: 978-3-946688-99-0

Erscheinungsdatum: 15. Oktober 2020

Herausgeber: Thomas Kellner

Fotografie: Thomas Kellner

Sprache: Englisch

Maße: 24,5 cm x 30,5 cm

Seiten: 26

Verarbeitung: Leporello, mit Schutzumschlag (durchsichtig)